• Grimaud

    Grimaud, avec son village médiéval et provençal, témoigne d’une histoire remontant à l’époque gallo-romaine. Autrefois le plus grand village du territoire avec 1000 villageois, Grimaud a donné son nom au territoire : «Le golfe de Grimaud» jusqu’à la fin du XIXe siècle, date à laquelle il est ensuite devenu le «Golfe de Saint-Tropez» actuel.

Infos Pratiques

Mairie

Rue de la Mairie, 83310 Grimaud – Ouvert toute l’année entre 8h30 et 17h30. Fermé samedi et dimanche – 04 94 55 69 00

Office de Tourisme

679 Route Nationale, 83310 Grimaud – Ouvert toute l’année de 9h à 12h30 – de 14h à 17h30 – Fermé le mardi et le dimanche – 04 94 55 43 83

Supermarchés

Intermarché

616 Route de Cogolin – Ouvert du lundi au samedi de 8h30 à 19h45 – Dimanche de 8h30 à 13h00 – 04 94 55 77 05

Pharmacie

14 Route Départementale 558 – Ouvert du lundi au samedi de 9h à 12h30 et de 14h30 à 19h – au 04 94 43 37 58

 

Activités

Sites culturels et historiques

Église Saint Michel

Dès le XIème siècle, le village de Grimaud avait une église. Elle a été remplacée par la belle église Saint Michel de style roman provençal que nous connaissons aujourd’hui. La qualité de construction de cette église en granit et calcaire prouve la richesse du village à la fin du XIIe siècle et au début du XIIIe siècle. Ce bâtiment, à l’origine recouvert d’ardoises de schiste, a subi quelques modifications dans son architecture d’origine, telles que la construction du clocher (XVIe siècle), la sacristie (XVIIIe siècle) et l’élargissement des ouvertures au sud. En raison d’un manque cruel d’espace, le cimetière entourant l’église a été transféré à Saint-Roch à la fin du XIXe siècle.

À l’intérieur, des traces d’anciennes fresques décorant les murs et la voûte. Au-dessus du transept, fresque de 1850, représentations de saint Michel, de saint Pierre et de Saint-Barthélemy. Les vitraux en résine ont été remplacés par le joaillier Jacques Gautier en 1975. Un orgue a été installé en 2015 par l’atelier Pasqual Quoirin.

Au Moyen Âge, le village s’étendait du sommet de la colline, du château à l’église. La rue du Baladou servait de lien entre ces lieux.

 

La Maison des Arcades

La Maison des Arcades ou « Templiers » a obtenu son nom grâce aux arches que l’on voit aujourd’hui dans la rue des Templiers. De nombreuses personnalités ont vécu dans cette maison qui remonte aux XV et XVI siècles. Depuis 2018, il est devenu un showroom municipal avec différents artistes accueillis toute l’année.

Maison des Arcades, Impasse Balladou, 83310 Grimaud – Ouvert du mardi au vendredi de 14h30 à 18h00 – le jeudi de 10h00 à 12h30 – le 04 94 55 69 23

 

Le moulin à vent

Juste en dessous du château, vous trouverez un moulin à vent construit au XVIe siècle. D’abord appelé Moulin de la Gardiole, il est devenu Moulin «Saint-Roch» au XVIIe siècle, à la suite de la construction de la chapelle dédiée à ce saint. C’est l’un des quatre moulins à vent de la commune.

Dans les années 1990, la toiture, les ailes et le mécanisme ont été restaurés. Devant le bâtiment, il y avait une zone de broyage où les chevaux piétinaient, les gerbes de blé. Parfois, ils tiraient un rouleau de pierre, augmentant ainsi l’efficacité de l’action. Une fois que la poussière et les morceaux de paille ont été enlevés, les grains ont été transportés au moulin pour être broyés par les 2 meules en pierre. Le meunier a installé les voiles sur les ailes (ou antennes) du moulin. Pendant le fraisage, il devait être attentif à de nombreux paramètres tels que la force et l’orientation du vent. Une vitesse adéquate des roues permettait de produire une farine appropriée. L’utilisation de ces moulins a pris fin au début du XXe siècle.

 

Le pont de la fée

Sous le château, sur une piste rocheuse, vous trouverez les vestiges d’un aqueduc qui alimentait le village en eau du XVI au XVIIe siècle. La rivière qui coule en dessous s’appelle « La Garde ». Il est encore possible de voir les restes du tuyau en céramique d’origine. Dans son état de ruine actuel, il est connu localement sous le nom de «Pont des Fées».

Ce système unique, ainsi que les richesses naturelles des environs, ont contribué en 1927 à la classification de la vallée en tant que «site remarquable».

 

Musée du Patrimoine

Installé dans une ancienne usine à huile et à liège, le Museum of Arts & Folk est une invitation au style de vie à la campagne du XIXe siècle. Découvrez l’histoire locale de Grimaud grâce à la surprenante collection évoquant le passé (outils, vêtements, objets ménagers, etc.). Visitez un vieil appartement de fermier reconstruit dans le musée. Vous vous retrouverez dans une autre époque si différente de celle d’aujourd’hui.

Ouvert tous les jours de l’année – Fermé le lundi – Entrée gratuite

 

Du plaisir pour toute la famille

 

Karting

Voulez-vous défier vos amis? Venez découvrir qui est le pilote le plus rapide du Karting à Grimaud. Du plaisir pour tous les âges, de 7 à 77 ans. Choisissez entre les karts 160cc, 250cc ou 270cc (en fonction de l’âge). Ouvert 7/7 – 37 Carraire d’Aïgo Puto, 83310 Grimaud – 04 94 56 00 12

 

Ranch de la Mène

Équitation, randonnées à vélo, balades à thème, promenades nocturnes, bivouac, mini ferme, trampoline et château gonflable. Des heures de plaisir pour toute la famille. Offrez-vous un hamburger, une pizza ou un steak au restaurant sur place. Ouvert en été de 8h à 12h et de 17h à 22h – Fermé le dimanche. Ouverture hors saison de 9h à 12h et de 14h à 17h – Fermé le lundi – 255, Chemin de la Tour 83310 Grimaud – 06 11 81 11 32

 

Golf Up

Parcours de golf de 9 trous, practice, putting green et cours de golf. Golf Up est l’endroit idéal pour aller avec des amis et des enfants. Jamais joué au golf auparavant? Pas de problème, il existe une gamme où vous pouvez pratiquer et vous pouvez même prendre des leçons quel que soit votre âge ou votre expertise. Le parcours de 9 trous prend env. 1 heure à compléter. Après votre partie, vous pourrez vous détendre au «10ème trou» avec votre boisson préférée sur la terrasse du restaurant, qui est également ouvert pour le déjeuner et le dîner. 39 Carraire d’Aïgo Puto, 83310 Grimaud – 04 94 43 08 08

Pour plus d’informations sur les prix et les heures d’ouverture, visitez le site Web de Golf Up.

 

Parc Acrobranche

Voici une autre idée amusante pour divertir les enfants pendant les vacances. 60 plateformes et un snack-bar sont à votre disposition pour un moment rempli d’adrénaline partagé en famille ou entre amis. Chemin Bagatin, 83310 Grimaud – 06 22 76 63 29 – Pour obtenir des informations sur les prix et les heures d’ouverture, cliquez ici.

 

Laser Game Outdoor

Venez défier vos amis à un jeu de quête laser sans peinture ni douleur. 1 heure = 20 € – Espace Multisport, Les Prairies de la Mer, 1910 Route du Littoral 83310 Grimaud – Pour plus d’informations et pour réserver, appelez le 06 78 27 22 82

 

Bowling

Mauvais temps? Ou simplement cherchez-vous un moyen de divertir les enfants? Venez faire une partie ou deux de bowling. Il est équipé de rails et de glissoires à billes pour que vos enfants puissent également participer. Il y a aussi des tables de billard et des jeux de courses de voitures ainsi qu’un bar. 1721 Route du Littoral, 83310 Grimaud – Ouvert le lundi de 15h à 20h – du mardi au dimanche de 15h à 1h – 04 94 56 26 69

 

Le petit train

Envie de visiter la petite ville médiévale de Grimaud puis de visiter la ville balnéaire de Port Grimaud? Pourquoi ne pas vous asseoir et admirer le paysage tout en conduisant le petit train qui circule plusieurs fois dans la journée. Les enfants adoreront ce petit trajet en train (45 minutes) commenté – Pour en savoir plus sur les temps de parcours et les prix, rendez-vous sur : Le Petit Train.

Manger et Boire

Il y a de nombreux restaurants et cafés dans la petite ville de Grimaud. Promenez-vous dans les rues pavées étroites pour trouver l’endroit idéal pour prendre un café ou savourer des spécialités locales telles que la Bouillabaisse, une soupe au pistou, une salade niçoise, la Tarte Tropézienne, la Tapenade, l’Aioli et la Ratatouille… accompagnés d’un verre de rosé local blanc de l’un des nombreux vignobles locaux.

 

Restaurants

 

Restaurants les Santons

Un beau restaurant gastronomique au cœur du village depuis 1962. Pour plus d’informations sur le menu, les horaires d’ouverture et les coordonnées, veuillez visiter : Restaurant Les Santons.

 

L’Ecurie de la Marquise

Restaurant méditerranéen typique caché dans les ruelles de la vieille ville. 3 rue du Gacharel, 83310, Grimaud, France – 04 94 81 59 04

 

Apopino restaurant

Des plats soigneusement préparés et présentés vous attendent dans ce restaurant provençal. Vous pouvez également commander des plats à emporter. N’oubliez pas de commander leurs raviolis faits maison. Pour plus d’informations, s’il vous plaît visitez : Restaurant Apopino

 

Restaurant Fleur de Sel

Venez profiter d’un menu de saison et original préparé par l’incroyable chef. Les nombreuses critiques de restaurants indiquent que vous devriez réserver une table pendant vos vacances. Pour plus d’informations, s’il vous plaît visitez : Restaurant Fleur de Sel.

 

Bars

Galerie Enoteca – Bar à vin

Avec 2 charmantes terrasses et de superbes plateaux de fromages et charcuteries, un personnel accueillant et de la musique live régulière, sans oublier une grande sélection de vins du monde entier, qu’est-ce qui ne va pas? Il serait recommandé de s’y aventurer car les œuvres d’art et le style éclectique valent le détour.

Boulevard des Alizés – 04 94 81 00 00 – Ouvert en avril pour la saison estivale avec musique live tous les jeudis soirs.

 

Marchés

 

Marché des Fermiers

Tous les jeudis matins de l’année, à La Place Neuve, venez découvrir les nombreux stands proposant des produits du terroir tels que fruits et légumes frais, poisson frais, pain, fromage, miel… Vous trouverez des spécialités locales comme les olives, la tapenade, les charcuteries… . En plus du côté culinaire du marché, vous pouvez souvent trouver des tissus (les serviettes et les nappes sont populaires), de la céramique et d’autres objets d’artisanat locaux.

 

Marché aux puces

Jas de Robert. C’est le plus grand et le plus populaire marché aux puces du dimanche matin dans le golfe de St Tropez. Les particuliers peuvent venir vendre le contenu de leur garage. Il y a donc toujours une grande variété d’articles exposés chaque semaine. Les professionnels font également une impression hebdomadaire avec des objets en vente qui attirent les collectionneurs et tous ceux qui aiment l’art. Il y a un restaurant si vous avez envie d’un café en milieu de matinée ou d’un déjeuner après une journée passée au soleil.

Histoire

Le château de Grimaud est historiquement lié à la famille Grimaldi, puisque Gibelin Grimaldi a été récompensé du territoire pour avoir aidé à chasser les Sarrazins en 973 après JC. Il est facile de constater que le château de Grimaud a été construit de manière stratégique en tant que surveillance défensive au Moyen Âge.

Détruit par Richelieu au 17ème siècle lors des guerres de religion, le château n’a été que partiellement reconstruit. Aujourd’hui, les remparts sont utilisés comme toile de fond pour le théâtre en plein air. Une petite promenade derrière les ruines mène à un ancien moulin à vent du XVIIe siècle utilisé pour moudre la farine. Il a été rénové en 1990. En tant que garant de la mémoire du village, le château a été déclaré monument historique en 1928.

Autour du château, il y a des chapelles et des églises remarquables telles que Notre Dame de Queste, les Chapelles des Pénitents et Saint Roch et les églises St Michel et St Pons.

Une sélection de locations à Grimaud

Villa Satine

Villa Satine

Grimaud à partir de: 3 360 € 3 6
Cette belle et spacieuse villa de style méditerranéen est située dans un domaine privé à Grimaud, à 10 minutes à pied de la plage la ...

Voir la Propriété

Villa Sherece

Villa Sherece

Grimaud à partir de: 10 000 € 4 8
Cette villa de luxe est située dans un domaine privé en direction de Sainte Maxime en face de 2 restaurants sur la plage. La villa ...

Voir la Propriété

Villa Mont Roux

Villa Mont Roux

Grimaud à partir de: 2 005 € 5 10
Cette villa de 5 chambres est située dans un domaine fermé qui offre un terrain de tennis partagé et une piscine privée. C’est à distance de ...

Voir la Propriété

• Grimaud

    Grimaud, with its medieval and Provençal village testify of a history going back in time, to the Gallo-Roman era. Formerly the biggest village of the territory with 1000 villagers, Grimaud gave its name to the territory : “the Gulf of Grimaud” until the end of the XIXth century when it then became the current and well-known “Gulf of St Tropez”.

Practical Info

Mairie :

Rue de la Mairie, 83310 Grimaud – Open all year round between 8.30am & 5.30pm. Closed Saturday & Sunday – 0033 (0)4 94 55 69 00

Tourist office :

679 Route Nationale, 83310 Grimaud – Open all year round between 9am to 12.30pm – 2pm to 5.30pm – Closed Tuesday & Sunday – 0033 (0)4 94 55 43 83

Supermarkets :

Intermarché :

616 Route de Cogolin – Open from Monday to Saturday from 8.30am to 7.45pm – Sunday from 8.30am to 1pm – 0033 (0)4 94 55 77 05

Pharmacies :

14 Route Départementale 558 – Open from Monday to Saturday from 9am to 12.30pm & from 2.30pm to 7pm – 0033 (0)4 94 43 37 58

Things to Do

Historical & cultural sites

Saint Michel Church

As early as the XI century, the village of Grimaud has had a church. It was replaced by the beautiful Saint Michel church of Provençal Romanesque style we know today. The quality of construction of this church in granite and limestone, prove the wealth of the village at the end of the XII century and the beginning of the XIII century. This edifice, originally covered with schist slates, has undergone some modifications in its original architecture such as the construction of the bell tower (XVI century), the sacristy (XVIII century) and the widening of the openings to the south. Due to a cruel lack of space, the cemetery surrounding the church was moved to the Saint-Roch mill at the end of the XIX century.

Inside, there are some traces of ancient frescoes decorating the walls and the vault. Above the transept, a fresco from 1850, depicts Saint Michael, Saint Peter and Saint Bartholomew. The stained glass and resin windows were replaced by the jeweller Jacques Gautier in 1975. An organ was installed in 2015 by the workshop Pasqual Quoirin.

During the Middle Ages, the village stretched from the top of the hill, from the castle to the church. The Rue du Baladou served as a link between these places.

Maison des Arcades

The Maison des Arcades or « des Templiers » obtained its name thanks to the arches seen today in the rue des Templiers. Many important people have lived in this house that dates back to the XV and XVI centuries. Since 2018, it has become a municipal showroom with different artists welcomed all year round.

Maison des Arcades, Impasse du Balladou, 83310 Grimaud – Open from Tuesday to Friday from 2.30pm to 6pm – Thursday from 10am to 12.30pm – 0033 (0)4 94 55 69 23

The Windmill

Just below the castle, you’ll find a windmill that was built in the XVI century. First called Moulin de la Gardiole, it became Moulin “Saint-Roch” in the XVII century, following the construction of the chapel dedicated to this saint. It is one of four windmills in the Commune.

In the 1990s, the roof, the wings and the mechanism were restored. In front of the building there was a grinding area, where horses trampled with their hoofs, the sheaves of wheat. Sometimes they pulled a roll of stone, increasing the efficiency of the action. Once the dust and pieces of straw had been removed, the grains were carried to the mill to be crushed by the 2 stone millstones. The miller installed sails on the wings (or antennae) of the mill. During the milling, he had to be attentive to many parameters such as the strength and the orientation of the wind. An adequate speed of the wheels made it possible to produce a suitable flour. The use of these mills ended at the beginning of the XX century.

The Fairy Bridge

Below the castle, down a rocky track, you’ll find the remains of an aqueduct that was used to supply the village with water, from the XVI to the XVII century. The river that flows beneath is called “La Garde”. It is still possible to see the remains of the original ceramic pipe. In its present ruined state, it is known locally as “Le Pont des Fées”.

This unique system, as well as the natural riches of the surrounding area, contributed in 1927 to the classification of the valley, as a “remarkable site”.

Heritage Museum

Set up in a former oil mill & cork factory, the Museum of Arts & Folk is an invitation to the XIX century’s lifestyle in the countryside. Discover the local history of Grimaud, thanks to the surprising collection evoking the past (tools, garments, household objects etc…). Visit an old farmer’s apartment reconstructed in the Museum. You will find yourself in another era so different from today.

Open every day throughout the year – Closed on Monday – Free entry

Fun for all the family

Karting

Want to challenge your friends? Come & find out who is the fastest driver at the Karting in Grimaud. Fun for all ages, from 7 to 77 years old. Choose between 160cc, 250cc or 270cc karts (age dependent). Open 7/7 – 37 Carraire d’Aïgo Puto, 83310 Grimaud – 0033 (0)4 94 56 00 12

Ranch de La Mène

Horse riding, bike ranch tours, themed rides, nocturnal rides, Bivouac, mini farm, trampoline & bouncy castle. Hours of fun for the whole family. Indulge in a burger, a pizza or a steak in the onsite restaurant. Open in the summer from 8am to 12pm & from 5pm to 10pm – Closed on Sundays. Open out of season from 9am to 12pm & from 2pm to 5pm – Closed on Mondays – 255 Chemin de la Tour 83310 Grimaud – 0033 (0)6 11 81 11 32

Golf Up

9-hole golf course, driving range, putting green and golf lessons. Golf Up is the perfect place to go with friends and children. Never golfed before? No problem, there is a range where you can practice and you can even take lessons whatever your age or expertise. The 9-hole course takes approx. 1 hour to complete. After your round, you can wind down at the “10th hole” with your favourite tipple on the terrace of the restaurant which is also open for lunch & dinner. 39 Carraire d’Aïgo Puto, 83310 Grimaud – 0033 (0)4 94 43 08 08

For information regarding prices & opening hours, please visit the Golf Up website.

Parc Accrobranche

Here is another fun idea to entertain the children whilst on holiday. 60 platforms & a snack bar are available for an adrenaline filled moment shared with family or friends. Chemin Bagatin, 83310 Grimaud – 0033 (0)6 22 76 63 29 – For information regarding prices & opening hours, click here.

Laser Game Outdoor

Come & challenge your friends to a game of laser quest with no paint and no pain. 1 hour = 20€ – Espace Multisport, Les Prairies de la Mer, 1910 Route du Littoral 83310 Grimaud – For more information and bookings, call 0033 (0)6 78 27 22 82

Bowling

Bad weather? Or simply looking for a way of entertaining the children? Come & have a game or 2 of bowling. It is equipped with rails & ball slides for your youngsters to also participate. There are also pool tables & car racing games as well as a bar. 1721 Route du Littoral, 83310 Grimaud – Open Monday 3pm to 8pm – Tuesday to Sunday 3pm to 1am – 0033 (0)4 94 56 26 69

The little train

Want to visit the small medieval town of Grimaud & then take a tour of the seaside town of Port Grimaud? Why not sit back & take in the scenery whilst riding the little train that runs multiple times throughout the day. Kids will love this little train ride (45mins) which is commentated – For information regarding running times & prices, please visit : Le Petit Train.

Food & Drink

There are many restaurants & cafés in the little town of Grimaud. Wander up the narrow-cobbled streets to find the perfect place to enjoy a coffee or indulge in local specialities such as Bouillabaisse, Pistou soup, Niçoise salad, Tarte Tropézienne, Tapenade, Aioli and Ratatouille… accompanied by a glass of local rosé, rouge or blanc from one of the many local vineyards.

Restaurants

Restaurant Les Santons

A beautiful gastronomic restaurant in the heart of the village since 1962. For more information regarding the menu, opening times & contact details, please visit : Restaurant Les Santons.

L’écurie de la Marquise

Typical Mediterranean restaurant hidden in the back streets of the old town. 3 rue du Gacharel, 83310, Grimaud, France – 0033 (0)4 94 81 59 04

Apopino Restaurant

Beautifully prepared & displayed dishes await you in this Provençal restaurant. You can order take away as well. Don’t forget to order their home-made ravioli. For more information, please visit : Aponino Restaurant

Restaurant Fleur de Sel

Come & enjoy a seasonal and original menu prepared by the amazing chef. The restaurants many professional reviews are proof enough that you should book a table here during your holiday. For more information, please visit : Restaurant Fleur de Sel.

Bars

Galerie Enoteca – Wine bar

With 2 lovely terraces and superb cheese & charcuterie platters, friendly accommodating staff & regular live music, not to mention a great selection of wines from around the world, what is there not to like? It would be recommended to venture inside as the artwork and eclectic style is well worth a look.

Boulevard des Alizés – 0033 (0)4 94 81 00 00 – Open from April for the summer season with live music every Thursday evening.

Markets

Farmer’s market

Every Thursday morning throughout the year, in La Place Neuve, come and discover the many stalls offering local produce such as fresh fruit & vegetables, fresh fish, bread, cheese, honey… You’ll find local delicacies like olives, tapenade, charcuteries…. In addition to the culinary side of the market, you can often find fabrics (napkins & tablecloths are popular) ceramics and other local crafts.

Flea market

Jas de Robert. This is the biggest and most popular Sunday morning flea market in the Golfe of St Tropez. Individuals can come and sell the contents of their garage so there is always a large variety of items on display each week. Professionals also make a weekly impression with items on sale that attract collectors and anyone with an eye for art. There is a restaurant if you fancy a coffee stop mid-morning or lunch after browsing in the hot sun.

History

The Grimaud castle is historically linked to the Grimaldi family, as Gibelin Grimaldi was rewarded with the territory for helping to drive out the Saracens in 973AD. It’s easy to see that the Grimaud Château was strategically built as a defensive overlook during the Middle Ages.

Torn down by Richelieu in the 17th century during the Wars of Religion, the château has been only partially rebuilt. Today, the ramparts are used as a backdrop for outdoor theatre. A short walk behind the ruins leads to an old 17th century windmill that was used to grind flour. It was renovated in 1990. As a guarantor of the village’s memory, the castle was declared a historical monument in 1928.

Surrounding the castle, there are notable chapels and churches such as Notre Dame de Queste, the Chapels of Pénitents and Saint Roch and the churches St Michel and St Pons.

A Selection of Rentals in Grimaud

Villa Christale

Villa Christale

Grimaud from: €5,210 5 10
This beautiful 4-bedroom villa is located between Sainte Maxime and Port Grimaud, making it close to multiple beaches, family friendly activities, nightlife and public transport. ...

View property

Villa Carine

Villa Carine

Grimaud from: €2,650 5 10
This secluded villa is located in a private domaine. It is set in private secure gardens and has plenty of outdoor living space. The villa ...

View property

Villa Floriana

Villa Floriana

Grimaud from: €1,265 3 6
This typically Provençal villa is situated on the edge of the village of Grimaud in an exclusive domaine. From its elevated position, it offers commanding ...

View property